About Ganaraska Conservation

Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority (GRCA)

The Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority (GRCA), also known as Ganaraska Conservation, was formed in October 1946 under the Conservation Authorities Act and is one of the oldest conservation authorities in Ontario. The GRCA’s overall goal is the conservation, restoration, development and management of natural resources on a watershed basis, while providing for the public enjoyment of the lands it oversees.

The watersheds of the GRCA cover an area of approximately 935 square-kilometres, from Wilmot Creek in Clarington to east of Cobourg, from the south shore of Rice Lake down to Lake Ontario. This area includes seven municipalities in whole or in part: Township of Cavan MonaghanTown of CobourgTownship of Alnwick / HaldimandTownship of HamiltonMunicipality of Port HopeCity of Kawartha LakesMunicipality of Clarington.

The Ganaraska Forest is the largest block of continuous forest in Southern Ontario, it is a huge expanse of 11,000 acres, representing one of the most successful conservation projects ever undertaken in Central Canada.